Priority Areas

Communities are protecting Lake Huron with best management practices and projects along the entire southeast shoreline.

These positive actions are taking place in many lakeshore and inland watersheds of the St. Clair Region, Ausable Bayfield, Maitland Valley, Saugeen Valley, Grey Sauble, and Bruce Peninsula areas.

There are six identified key watersheds – ‘beacon’ or ‘sentinel’ or 'priority' areas – that have been designated for long-term monitoring (of water quality, water quantity, and weather), research, and project implementation and evaluation.

The lessons learned in these six designated watershed study areas provide valuable knowledge about projects that can be implemented along the entire southeast shoreline.

The six areas are: